Google+

Why E-books?

Leave a comment

December 20, 2012 by S. K. Stewart

scrolls Publisher’s Weekly reported in February 2012 that e-book sales rose by 117% in 2011 while print editions fell. For most writers a combination of print and e-publishing is the best strategy.

I’ll be honest; I still like print editions to curl up with. And I’m certainly not taking my e-reader into the bathtub for a long, hot soak. My iPad is full of books and documents, though, for easy transporting when I travel. I even have a few books on my iPhone so I don’t have to read years-old magazines while waiting somewhere (even in line at the grocery store).

Not only has e-publishing taken over the book industry, but also many newspapers and magazines are offering their products in electronic as well as print versions. Some are even giving up print in favor of digital versions, such as Newsweek announced in November, 2012. E-textbooks for college, and even some high schools, are a growing trend. Libraries are also starting to loan e-books.

Writers can no longer ignore e-publishing. While I don’t think print books will ever completely go away, the future looks to be electronic.

If you are traditionally publishing your book, your publisher may be handling e-book versions for you along with print. Be sure to check your contract. If e-versions are included, find out what your options are. I’m not a lawyer or agent, so I advise getting help.

What are your thoughts?

